Life Babbles

Breaking My Comfort Zone

It’s been two weeks since I’ve been back in the United States, I really wish I could say that I longed to come home. I really didn’t, and still don’t.
Reminiscing all the amazing moments I spent in Europe,  I always flashback to the Viennese amusement park.
I for one, am not particularly a big fan of amusement parks, mainly because of rides. I am deadly afraid of amusement park rides. Ever since I was little, I could not build up the courage to even go on kiddy rides. And the only extreme ride I have ever been on was the pilot roller coaster at Chuck E. Cheese.
All it took was peer pressure, and two strapping young men to carry me into the park. The first ride I went on was the Ferris wheel, which wasn’t too bad.

image

This was the view of the park from the Ferris Wheel

image

It was reassuring to know that my friend Faby and I were both dual amuse-wimps: )

image

The boy on the left is my friend Cody, he was one of the two guys who practically forced me into the place
After the wheel, I remember I started to feel a lot more confident about the park. I even sought out more rides to go on. It was like I was a little kid again, I probably had the ridiculous grin to match my mood.
Faby and I agreed to go on a spin ride next. Basically,  it’s one of those rides that spins fast all while elevating to the top. I was so excited,  I couldn’t even feel my thumbs.

image

This is the ride! It didn’t look that high from the ground,  but after being on the ride I quickly realized how high 1,764 meters can really be. Despite how small everyone looked, or how cold it was up there, it couldn’t take away the most beautiful view of Vienna.  I couldn’t get a picture of it unfortunately,  I was gripping on for dear life. Again I was somehow blinded by nostalgia. This led me to my last amusement park ride for the night, ECSTACY….
It’s basically a ride that spins all around, up side down, while some flashy lights and trippy music burn around.
I have to admit, I have a terrible habit of underestimating how bad things can be at times. That was truly the most intense ride / thing I have ever experienced. I don’t think I’ve ever screamed as much as I did that night. By the time I got back to the hotel, Faby and I had both lost our voices, and I managed to puke out my dinner in the back of that ride. 
That night seemed like a tragic and nauseating experience,  but I can honestly say that I had such a great time!  Maybe not towards the end but…..
I realized that truly beginning to live life means putting an end to my comfort zone. I have to learn to look past my fears to have the greatest experience in anything possible.  It doesnt mean I need to go all YOLO all day everyday, or that I need to be a total bad ass. And I can live with that. Besides, a life without any risks is one not worth living anyway.

Leave a Reply

