Travels

24 Hours in London

Its only fair to confess that I had mixed feelings about going to london. I vaguely remember the last time I was there – I was three years old and my strongest memory of london was being in front of Big Ben while my younger sister threw another one of her tantrums. Back then I was new to most things like walking in straight lines and talking in complete sentences. Now, 18 years later and bring able to do all things I set my mind to, I still feel like that three year old girl; new and cautious about all things. However, after having what could be described as a hellish two years, I promised myself that I would do something different. I strapped on a backpack and got out an old carry-on suitcase and headed straight to Europe.

The plane ride from California to London was a dragging 10 hour flight, most of which I could not sleep. Everything was off to a great start though! I met an interesting man who I’ll call Nigel 😉 We chatted about travelling and he even got me a glass of Champaign! I really enjoyed life at that moment. For the rest of my flight I was consumed with watching Modern Family, Bridget Jones’s Baby, and Fantastic Beasts.

I looked out to see the view of London as we where descending and I could not have been more excited. I was probably making as much noise as a toddler with popping ears on an airplane. The plane flew by Westminster Abbey, Buckingham Palace, the London Eye, and Big Ben. 🌍🇬🇧🙉
I made a list of all the places I wanted to go. Most of them were tourist destinations like: Buckingham Palace, St. Pancras Square, Big Ben, etc. My main focus was Kings Cross Station. This Station hosts the famous Platform 9 3/4 from Harry Potter. This was also something that did not exist when I was in London the first time. As a potterhead, this was a huge milestone for me.

I didnt want to buy the legitimate photo though. I really am just that cheap ( it was 5 Pounds!).

I also saw this while I was walking back to my hotel.

Truthfully,  I really wish I could have spent more than just one day in London. While I managed to see a lot of attractions and fulfill my dream, London definitely had a lot more to offer. I would love to come back someday. I also want to interact with more of the locals there. Brits are so cool! And those accents…❤. There are many places that I would love to revisit in life and London is definitely on that list.
Notable places to visit:
– Platform 9 3/4
– The Big Chill
– Big Ben
– The British Library (for all you bookworms)
-The British Museum

2 thoughts on “24 Hours in London

Leave a Reply

